Cannabis cultivation for medical and adult use in Saginaw County is legal by virtue of the Michigan Medical Marijuana Act (MMMA) of 2008, the Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act (MMFLA) of 2016, and the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) of 2018. The licensing and regulation of all medical and adult-use cannabis businesses, including cannabis cultivation businesses, is under the Cannabis Regulatory Agency (CRA).
Under the MRTMA, municipalities have the option of disallowing adult-use cannabis businesses within their area, including adult-use cannabis cultivation businesses. However, municipalities are prohibited from banning any kind of medical cannabis facility, including medical cannabis cultivation facilities.
In Saginaw County, the following 31 out of 35 municipalities have opted out of having any kind of adult-use cannabis business, including adult-use cannabis cultivation:
Birch Run Village
Birch Run Township
Bridgeport Charter Township
City of Frankenmuth
Maple Grove Township
City of Saginaw
Saginaw Charter Township
St. Charles Village
St. Charles Township
Swan Creek Township
City of Zilwaukee
In municipalities that have opted in, cannabis facilities can only operate by first applying for a medical cannabis establishment license or an adult-use cannabis establishment license from the State of Michigan’s Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), and must comply with the department’s marijuana licensing rules.
The following are the licenses needed to cultivate medical cannabis commercially:
The Class A medical marijuana grower license allows the cultivation of up to 500 mature cannabis plants.
The Class B medical marijuana grower license allows the cultivation of up to 1,000 mature cannabis plants.
The Class C medical marijuana grower license allows the cultivation of up to 1,500 mature cannabis plants.
The following are the licenses needed to cultivate cannabis for adult use commercially:
The Class A adult-use marijuana grower license allows the cultivation of up to 100 mature cannabis plants.
The Class B adult-use marijuana grower license allows the cultivation of up to 500 mature cannabis plants.
The Class C adult-use marijuana grower license allows the cultivation of up to 2,000 mature cannabis plants.
The cannabis microbusiness license allows the cultivation of up to 150 mature cannabis plants, plus the manufacturing of cannabis products from these plants and the retail selling of cannabis and cannabis products to persons aged 21 and older, all in the same location.
The Class A cannabis microbusiness license is the same as the microbusiness license except that it allows the cultivation of up to 300 mature cannabis plants.
Class A, B, and C cannabis grower licensees are only allowed to sell cannabis to other licensed growers and licensed manufacturers.
All types of cannabis business licenses, including grower licenses, have a $3,000 nonrefundable application fee which may increase every fiscal year. Applicants must show proof of having $100,000 to pay for any bodily injury liability from their cannabis business activities. In addition, medical cannabis business license applicants must show proof of having another $100,000 to cover any premises liability from their cannabis business activities.
The following license and renewal fees are also required:
|License and Renewal Fee|
|Class A medical and adult-use marijuana grower license||$1,200|
|Class B medical and adult-use marijuana grower license||$6,000|
|Class C medical and adult-use marijuana grower license||$24,000|
|Marijuana microbusiness license||$8,300|
|Class A marijuana microbusiness license||$18,600|
The MRTMA and the MMMA allow the cultivation of adult-use and medical cannabis both indoors and outdoors or in greenhouses. The cultivation area must be surrounded by a secure fence with a locked gate so as not to be seen by the public and to be protected from unauthorized entry and theft. The commercial cultivation facility must be in an appropriate zone approved by the municipality and not less than 1,000 feet from any school up to the Grade 12 level. An ongoing tracking and inventory system must be in place for all cannabis plants and transactions.
The home growing of medical or adult-use cannabis by persons aged 21 and older is allowed by the MRTMA’s Section 333.27955 for personal use only. Each individual may grow up to 12 cannabis plants. The same cap applies per residence no matter how many qualified adults reside in it. The cannabis cultivation area must be hidden from the public’s sight and secured against unlawful access and robbery.
Manufacturing medical and adult-use cannabis products in Saginaw County is legal as mandated by the MMMA, MMFLA, and MRTMA, but the manufacturing of adult-use cannabis products is limited to the municipalities that have opted in. Companies can manufacture medical or adult-use cannabis products commercially by applying for the following licenses from LARA:
The medical marijuana processor license
The adult-use marijuana processor license
Both have an application fee of $3,000 and a license and renewal fee of $24,000.
The same location, security, public visibility, and inventory requirements apply as those for licensed cannabis growers.
Holders of the microbusiness and Class A microbusiness licenses are also authorized to manufacture adult-use cannabis products.
Medical and adult-use cannabis retail in Saginaw County is legal as stipulated by the 2018 MRTMA, 2016 MMFLA, and 2008 MMMA, but the retail selling of adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products is restricted to the municipalities that have not opted out of it.
Only licensed retailers can sell cannabis, according to the type of license they hold. The following are the types of cannabis retail business licenses that must be applied for from LARA:
The provisioning center license authorizes the selling of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products to medical marijuana cardholders.
The marijuana retailer license authorizes the selling of adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products to persons aged 21 and above.
Both licenses require a $3,000 application fee and a $15,000 license and renewal fee.
Cannabis microbusiness and Class A microbusiness license holders are also authorized to sell adult-use cannabis by retail.
The provisioning center licensee is required to ask for the medical marijuana card of the purchasing patient or caregiver and check this against the online registry of the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP). The licensed adult-use cannabis retailer must ask for the adult purchaser’s valid government-issued photo ID card which proves identity and being aged 21 or older.
All licensed retailers must ensure that a purchase of cannabis does not exceed the possession limits provided by the MMMA and the MRTMA, which is 2.5 ounces of cannabis or its equivalent for each medical marijuana cardholder or a person aged 21 or older. Section 333.26424 of the MMMA states that one ounce of cannabis is equivalent to any of the following:
16 ounces of a cannabis-infused solid product
36 fluid ounces of a cannabis-infused liquid product
7 grams of a cannabis-infused gaseous product
The MRTMA allows the retail sale of cannabis, cannabis concentrate, cannabis oil, and cannabis-infused products such as tinctures, topical preparations, edible goods, and beverages, among others. These must be in sealed, opaque, packaging that does not look appealing to children. Packages that have multiple servings must be resealable.
All licensed retailers are subject to the same requirements on location, public visibility, security, and inventory tracking as licensed cannabis growers and processors.
The Saginaw County Health Department provides 1,000 lockboxes for free, to keep purchased medical marijuana safe from access by children, as well as educational materials on cannabis. These are available at:
1600 North Michigan Avenue
Saginaw, MI 48602
Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Medical and adult-use cannabis delivery in Saginaw County is legal in accordance with the MRTMA. Municipalities that have opted out of having adult-use cannabis businesses are prohibited by the MRTMA from disallowing medical and adult-use cannabis delivery. Medical marijuana cardholders and persons aged 21 and older residing in such municipalities can still order cannabis from other municipalities for delivery to them.
Section R 420.207 of LARA's marijuana licensing rules states that licensed provisioning centers may deliver medical cannabis and medical cannabis products to the registered residence of a medical marijuana cardholder upon confirming the validity of the card. Also, licensed adult-use cannabis retailers may deliver adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products to the residence of a person aged 21 and older, or to a licensed consumption facility identified by the qualified purchaser, upon verifying the identity and age of the buyer through a government-issued photo ID card.
Orders may be made by phone or online and may be paid for upon delivery. Deliveries are only made within the licensed retailer’s business hours. All information about each sale must be logged into the licensed retailer’s tracking system.
The maximum amount that can be carried in each delivery trip is any of the following:
60 grams of marijuana concentrate
15 ounces of marijuana
15 ounces of marijuana-infused products
Marijuana or marijuana products worth a total of $5,000 based on the selling price
The delivery vehicle must have a GPS device and must be monitored by the licensed retailer throughout the trip. Delivery personnel must not leave the delivery vehicle unlocked and unattended.
In Saginaw County, persons who have proof of state residency can apply for a medical marijuana card with LARA to join the State of Michigan’s Medical Marijuana Program. They must first be examined by a state-licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine who will issue a certification if they are diagnosed with one of these medical conditions:
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Alzheimer’s Disease with agitation
Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Post - Traumatic Stress Disorder
Spinal Cord Injury
Ailments or treatments causing one of the following:
Wasting Syndrome or Cachexia
Persistent Severe Muscle Spasms
Chronic Severe Pain
Certified patients who have no need for a caregiver may apply online, following the provided patients-only instructions. If the doctor did not upload the signed physician’s certification, the patient may upload it.
Patients who are minors require a caregiver since they are not allowed to purchase medical cannabis for themselves. The caregiver may be a parent or guardian who will register them by mail after downloading and completing the application forms package for minors. The caregiver must also submit proof of Michigan residency and be 21 years old and above.
The application fee for every patient or caregiver is $40 and the approved medical marijuana card will be sent by mail in about 20 working days.
Further queries may be addressed to the following:
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Cannabis Regulatory Agency
Michigan Medical Marijuana Program
P.O. Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Adult-use cannabis in the State of Michigan is subject to various taxes, including a 10% excise tax and a 6% state sales tax. The MRTMA also allows municipalities that have opted into the MRTMA to charge an annual fee of $5,000 from each cannabis business within its jurisdiction.
According to a news release from the Michigan Department of Treasury, adult-use cannabis sales from 374 cannabis business licensees exceeded $1.1 billion in the fiscal year 2021. From this, the state gave earned revenues of more than $42.2 million to municipalities that have opted into the MRTMA. From that amount, the disbursement to Saginaw County for its three cannabis business licenses was $69,360.32. Separately, Saginaw City received 56,453.44 from one cannabis business license.
Furthermore, the State of Michigan gave the K-12 education School Aid Fund $49.3 million, and the Michigan Transportation Fund also $49.3 million.
Medical cannabis was legalized in 2008 and adult-use cannabis was legalized in 2018 in Saginaw County.
Data from the Saginaw County Sheriff's Office on the FBI’s Crime Explorer page shows that a year before medical cannabis legalization in 2007, there were 54 marijuana offense arrests, with 31 for possession and 23 for manufacturing or sales.
A year after medical cannabis legislation, in 2009, there were 79 marijuana offense arrests, with 65 for possession and 14 for manufacturing or sales.
A year after adult-use cannabis legislation, in 2019, there were 10 marijuana offense arrests, with nine for possession and one for manufacturing or sales.
In the latest available data, in 2021, there was one marijuana offense arrest and it was for possession.
There were 127 DUI arrests in 2007, 139 in 2009, 109 in 2019, and 116 in 2021.